Album Review : The Mute Gods – tardigrades will inherit the earth
22nd February 2017, 10:45
Posted by Tristan

In the government cover up age that we live in, it seems the likelihood of us being erased as a species is ever more likely. With all of us living in the constant fear that there could we be World War III we try to distract ourselves with whatever we might have to hand but not all of us! Releasing their debut last year Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me, The Mute Gods gave a voice to the voiceless. Comprised of drummer Marco Minnemann, guitarist Roger King and bass master extraordinaire Nick Beggs, we’re invited to delve even deeper into the socio economical revolutionary wormhole in tardigrades will inherit the earth. Hold onto your tin foil hats!


  1. Salatio Mortis
  2. Animal Army
  3. We Can’t Carry On
  4. The Dumbing Of The Stupid
  5. Early Warning
  6. Tardigrades Will Inherit The Earth
  7. Window Onto The Sun
  8. Lament
  9. The Singing Fish Batticaloa
  10. The Andromeda Strain
  11. Stranger Than Fiction

Length: 52:00
Label: Inside Out
Release date: February 24th 2017

For those who were with the band from their origin, the tone of tardigrades… is one revolution. Lead single “We Can’t Carry On” specifically deals with our current hot topic, the tango coloured monster that lies atop America. Detailing the utter hypocrisy of the modern day that we have become so disenfranchised to that we see it is as the truth. Though the message might be pertinent the track itself works just as well as you might believe. Taking on a more cinematic approach choruses are larger, even better written. Understanding their niche yet pushing the boundaries slightly. The distortion heavy “The Dumbing of The Stupid” again calls out our sheep mentality whilst providing some truly great grooving bass lines. Featuring an array of different styles of vocal to create varying moods, it also simply highlights Nick Beggs‘ versatility as not only multi instrumentalist but a singer. Not to mention the first solo by King that is bolder than previous timid offerings. Even adding double bass work from Minnemann gives the track sense of urgency.

However the genius of songwriting still remains strongly apparent with title track “Tardigrades Will Inherit The Earth“. For those who are unfamiliar,tardigrades, are microscopic organisms that would probably be the only living thing left. With Beggs‘ lyrics detailing all the little treasures we have in life before becoming redundant through our extinction. Juxtaposing an incredibly Doom laden message with major sounding keys makes for a sound of happy annihilation. Its an interesting message. Comparatively “Early Warning” has more of a cautious step to it. Less straightforward melodies create an ominous backdrop to the sorrowful vocal lines Beggs opts for.

Bringing a symphonic element to the band previously not experimented with opener “Salatio Mortis” appears pushing the idea further with the follow up “Animal Army“. A bonkers track detailing an animal army mobilising against humanity yet it’s the swelling chorus that will stick in your head for the rest of the day after it’s distortion heavy riff. Similarly “Window Onto The Sun” once again employs the overall more major tones, describing science’s achievements with a warning of respecting life all the same. Whereas Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me saw the band as more of a spectator, tardigrades… sees a band who are far more confident tackling more grandiose ideas both lyrically and in songwriting. What was a timid stroll has now become a confident stride that might not be for everyone but if you’re a fan of classic Prog with a modernist come 1984 twist, then if the tardigrades might remain in the aftermath of our destruction at least we had some brilliant Prog!

Evolving from their primordial first footsteps on Do Nothing, The Mute Gods have proven with even tighter songwriting streamlined lyrics that they have an incredibly loud voice.

If you like what you read / heard then you can pick up the record here!