Reviews
Sols
Solstafir Tap Into The Atmosphere With Berdreyminn
26th May 2017, 10:30
Posted by Tristan

Somewhat late to the party on this one, Solstafir have been a band I, foolishly, haven’t been acquainted with. Missing their previous record, the critically acclaimed Otta, I was somewhat behind with the times. Not knowing truly what I was in for I was greeted with the throaty sounds, nuanced melodies put together meticulously to form an atmosphere. Similar to the first taking in of breath in the stillness of the morning, the record is a beautiful exercise in fragility.

Alestorm-No-Grave-But-the-Sea
Album Review: Alestorm – No Grave But The Sea
26th May 2017, 07:17
Posted by Chris

Alestorm are always full of piratey goodness, but it’s been the same old song for quite a while now. Are the band running it’s course? Are pirates getting boring? We review the new album ‘No Grave But the Sea‘.

img_3816.jpg
At The Drive In’s in-ter-a-li-a Commanding Relationship Among Other Things
5th May 2017, 13:00
Posted by Tristan

Seventeen years since their groundbreaking Relationship of Command was released, visionaries At The Drive In return at last with their brand new album in-ter-a-li-a. Reforming for a performance at California festival, come Topshop catwalk that is Coachelle back in 2012, the influential Post-Hardcore team banded together for the first time since their 2000 break up.

img_3798.jpg
Full of Hell : Trumpeting Ecstacy And Championing Suffering
5th May 2017, 10:25
Posted by Tristan

To the untrained ear, Full of Hell would be all the ingredients necessary to put together the most unlistenable of songs. At first glance the band might sound like a run of the mill Grindcore band, yet as the filth thickens, there is actually an indelible amount of variety in this noisey foursome. Having pumped out split EP’s until the cows come home at last, we’re treated to a feature length of their unbridled cacophony.

img_3801.jpg
Motionless In White Take The Graveyard Shift On New Album
4th May 2017, 12:25
Posted by Tristan

It’s widely known that 12:00am is the witching hour, however what might well be less understood is 3:33am, The Devils Hour. Creatures of the night it’s understandable that Motionless In White would be more apt working in early hours of the day than us humans. Announcing that their brand new album would be titled Graveyard Shift, the band released their first example of new music in the form of “570” as well as the new announcement of their signing to major label Roadrunner Records. 

img_3636.jpg
Gaze Into Ghost Bath’s Starmourner – Potentially The Strangest Record You’ll Hear This Year
25th April 2017, 09:58
Posted by Tristan

An emerging trend in the circle of Black Metal, strangely enough has been the inclusion of major keys mixed with the traditional style of Black Metal. Giving rise to the likes of Deafheaven, Black Anvil and now Ghost Bath. Showing their cards after a long time coming following their debut Moonbather, the band have come together to present you with what could well be the strangest record I have heard this year.

IMG_3441
Body Count Prove Having A Voice Matters
30th March 2017, 11:47
Posted by Tristan

“It’s unfortunate that we have to say “Black Lives Matter” if you go through history, nobody ever gave a fuck. I mean, you can kill black people in the street, nobody goes to jail, nobody goes to prison but when I say “Black Lives Matter” and you say “All lives matter”. That’s like if I was to say “Gay lives matter” and you was to say “All lives matter”. If I said “Women’s lives matter” and you say “All lives matter” you’re diluting what I’m sayin’. 

img_2699-3.jpg
Mastodon’s Empirical March Of The Sands
28th March 2017, 11:55
Posted by Tristan

The concept album. An unattainable zenith for some in the music world. Well versed in the art, Mastodon were practically born to write with concept in mind. Layering melody, rhythm and story to create something altogether transcendental from the mere confines of music. Centering on a theme for each release, we’ve treated to a plethora of ideas. From the space dimension exploratory Crack The Skye, the inner quest in Blood Mountain and of course the beautiful take on Moby Dick that was Leviathan. The band are the very essence of unique. Having put their previous release ‘Once More Round The Sun to bed, the band venture into the cosmos once more for the bewitching Emperor of Sand

img_2713.jpg
Album Review: Pallbearer – Heartless
24th March 2017, 11:36
Posted by Tristan

One of the many beauties that lie within music is the idea of escapism. Wanting to temporarily sojourn to a world of limitless possibility, Prog is the father of this wanton, exploratory voyage. Despite I ts heyday being in the seventies, the impact felt on the scene has been ever lasting and will do so for many years to come. Somehow obtaining the monicker of Doom band, Pallbearer invite the listener of a journey of true escapism in the tale that is Heartless.

IMG_3397
Album Review : Me And That Man – Songs Of Love And Death
22nd March 2017, 09:00
Posted by Tristan

Ferocity can also have its delicacy. Crafting one of the most ferocious albums of not only 2014 but potentially the last ten years, Behemoth returned with the vital The Satanist. Somewhat camouflaged as they might have been the record showed hints at a softer side of our frontman. Where what we you see on stage is a persona of venom and fervour, there of course cannot be one without the other. Exploring his alter ego with compadre Josh Porter the two came up with the idea to form Me And That Man, a meld of Country, Blues with Gothic tendencies.

IMG_3388
Darkest Hour – Godless Prophets And The Migrant Flora Video Review
20th March 2017, 19:08
Posted by Tristan

Once again we delve into the world of YouTube to give you a video review of Darkest Hour’s absolutely genius new album Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora.

IMG_3042
Album Review : Obituary – Obituary
15th March 2017, 12:00
Posted by Tristan

Prehistoric in their art, the Florida swamp stompers are the fathers of Death Metal. Pounding their way onto the scene in the heyday of the nineties, subtlety has never been their strong point. Returning in 2014 with the gore drenched Inked In Blood, Obituary enter the fold once more to deliver their tenth studio album, simply titled Obituary.

IMG_3118
Havok Aren’t Conforming On Their Brand New Record
9th March 2017, 18:47
Posted by Tristan

The first of many, many YouTube videos over at TheMetalTris, I recorded my thoughts on the brand new Havok album, Conformicide.

IMG_3040
Album Review : Nova Collective – The Further Side
8th March 2017, 14:10
Posted by Tristan

Orienteering, aside from being incredibly boring, is also incredibly hard. For those who aren’t Bear Grylls reading the signs of the setting sun in the west, drinking urine and checking compasses really won’t do! Similarly at times the listener can get lost, particularly in the treacherous environment of Prog. Banding together to deliver something entirely different we welcome Nova Collective, our metaphorical compasses to help guide us through the labyrinthine layers of Prog.

img_2191.jpg
Album Review : Suicide Silence – Suicide Silence
24th February 2017, 12:00
Posted by Tristan

Shown a blank piece of paper, we have all been given the task of writing whatever we want down. Exactly that, whatever you want. Freedom can be in its own right a terrifying thing, having so much possibility that at times it can overwhelm you making you unsure of what you really want. This could be said for the audience A perfect metaphor of one Suicide Silence. Having now laid the ghost to rest of Mitch Lucker with their final You Can’t Stop Me, the band made the ballsy move of changing their entire make up. Having only heard two songs off the record, people were quick to judge but perhaps the freedom Suicide Silence have been given will in turn become what people actually wanted all along. This is our account of the brand new, self titled record.

img_2409.jpg
Album Review : Six Feet Under – Torment
24th February 2017, 10:30
Posted by Tristan

The idea of dualism in human nature is one as old as time itself. The concept of the ying and the yang, without one, you cannot understand the other. Once more returning back from the undead studio Six Feet Under unleash their study in the art of balance, Torment.

Load More