Reviews
IMG_3441
Body Count Prove Having A Voice Matters
30th March 2017, 11:47
Posted by Tristan

“It’s unfortunate that we have to say “Black Lives Matter” if you go through history, nobody ever gave a fuck. I mean, you can kill black people in the street, nobody goes to jail, nobody goes to prison but when I say “Black Lives Matter” and you say “All lives matter”. That’s like if I was to say “Gay lives matter” and you was to say “All lives matter”. If I said “Women’s lives matter” and you say “All lives matter” you’re diluting what I’m sayin’. 

img_2699-3.jpg
Mastodon’s Empirical March Of The Sands
28th March 2017, 11:55
Posted by Tristan

The concept album. An unattainable zenith for some in the music world. Well versed in the art, Mastodon were practically born to write with concept in mind. Layering melody, rhythm and story to create something altogether transcendental from the mere confines of music. Centering on a theme for each release, we’ve treated to a plethora of ideas. From the space dimension exploratory Crack The Skye, the inner quest in Blood Mountain and of course the beautiful take on Moby Dick that was Leviathan. The band are the very essence of unique. Having put their previous release ‘Once More Round The Sun to bed, the band venture into the cosmos once more for the bewitching Emperor of Sand

img_2713.jpg
Album Review: Pallbearer – Heartless
24th March 2017, 11:36
Posted by Tristan

One of the many beauties that lie within music is the idea of escapism. Wanting to temporarily sojourn to a world of limitless possibility, Prog is the father of this wanton, exploratory voyage. Despite I ts heyday being in the seventies, the impact felt on the scene has been ever lasting and will do so for many years to come. Somehow obtaining the monicker of Doom band, Pallbearer invite the listener of a journey of true escapism in the tale that is Heartless.

IMG_3397
Album Review : Me And That Man – Songs Of Love And Death
22nd March 2017, 09:00
Posted by Tristan

Ferocity can also have its delicacy. Crafting one of the most ferocious albums of not only 2014 but potentially the last ten years, Behemoth returned with the vital The Satanist. Somewhat camouflaged as they might have been the record showed hints at a softer side of our frontman. Where what we you see on stage is a persona of venom and fervour, there of course cannot be one without the other. Exploring his alter ego with compadre Josh Porter the two came up with the idea to form Me And That Man, a meld of Country, Blues with Gothic tendencies.

IMG_3388
Darkest Hour – Godless Prophets And The Migrant Flora Video Review
20th March 2017, 19:08
Posted by Tristan

Once again we delve into the world of YouTube to give you a video review of Darkest Hour’s absolutely genius new album Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora.

IMG_3042
Album Review : Obituary – Obituary
15th March 2017, 12:00
Posted by Tristan

Prehistoric in their art, the Florida swamp stompers are the fathers of Death Metal. Pounding their way onto the scene in the heyday of the nineties, subtlety has never been their strong point. Returning in 2014 with the gore drenched Inked In Blood, Obituary enter the fold once more to deliver their tenth studio album, simply titled Obituary.

IMG_3118
Havok Aren’t Conforming On Their Brand New Record
9th March 2017, 18:47
Posted by Tristan

The first of many, many YouTube videos over at TheMetalTris, I recorded my thoughts on the brand new Havok album, Conformicide.

IMG_3040
Album Review : Nova Collective – The Further Side
8th March 2017, 14:10
Posted by Tristan

Orienteering, aside from being incredibly boring, is also incredibly hard. For those who aren’t Bear Grylls reading the signs of the setting sun in the west, drinking urine and checking compasses really won’t do! Similarly at times the listener can get lost, particularly in the treacherous environment of Prog. Banding together to deliver something entirely different we welcome Nova Collective, our metaphorical compasses to help guide us through the labyrinthine layers of Prog.

img_2191.jpg
Album Review : Suicide Silence – Suicide Silence
24th February 2017, 12:00
Posted by Tristan

Shown a blank piece of paper, we have all been given the task of writing whatever we want down. Exactly that, whatever you want. Freedom can be in its own right a terrifying thing, having so much possibility that at times it can overwhelm you making you unsure of what you really want. This could be said for the audience A perfect metaphor of one Suicide Silence. Having now laid the ghost to rest of Mitch Lucker with their final You Can’t Stop Me, the band made the ballsy move of changing their entire make up. Having only heard two songs off the record, people were quick to judge but perhaps the freedom Suicide Silence have been given will in turn become what people actually wanted all along. This is our account of the brand new, self titled record.

img_2409.jpg
Album Review : Six Feet Under – Torment
24th February 2017, 10:30
Posted by Tristan

The idea of dualism in human nature is one as old as time itself. The concept of the ying and the yang, without one, you cannot understand the other. Once more returning back from the undead studio Six Feet Under unleash their study in the art of balance, Torment.

image
Album Review : Immolation – Atonement
23rd February 2017, 11:00
Posted by Tristan

Thrown around without a second thought in the world of Metal, Heavy, is quite possibly the most common form of praise. Yet what if there was actually a band that quantified not only for its colloquial meaning but for its defined one too. Waking from their troubled slumber, the obelisk that is Immolation has begun to stir. Combining elements of dissonance, the band’s obsidian riffs have paved the way for some of the most nefarious sounding melodies in Metal. Combining the trio of vocals, drums and strings Immolation not only create a racket but have moulded an iconic sound, a sound that is by every single definition Heavy.

taligrades-will-inherit-the-earth
Album Review : The Mute Gods – tardigrades will inherit the earth
22nd February 2017, 10:45
Posted by Tristan

In the government cover up age that we live in, it seems the likelihood of us being erased as a species is ever more likely. With all of us living in the constant fear that there could we be World War III we try to distract ourselves with whatever we might have to hand but not all of us! Releasing their debut last year Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me, The Mute Gods gave a voice to the voiceless. Comprised of drummer Marco Minnemann, guitarist Roger King and bass master extraordinaire Nick Beggs, we’re invited to delve even deeper into the socio economical revolutionary wormhole in tardigrades will inherit the earth. Hold onto your tin foil hats!

img_2837.jpg
Album Review : Benighted – Necrobreed
16th February 2017, 18:04
Posted by Tristan

Insanity perhaps a rather morbid, yet no less fascinating subject. Wanting to understand the mind boggling causes to some of the most macabre murders in history we have been studiously interpreting the language of the serial killer. Moulded by abuse, trauma and neglect these ingredients often make a the most terrifying killers. Working in a mental asylum in France, Benighted’s Julien Truchan explores a quality that goes hand in hand with the lifestyle of a serial killer, madness.

img_2836.jpg
Album Review : Tim Bowness – Lost In The Ghostlight
16th February 2017, 10:00
Posted by Tristan

“What if?”, two words that begin an infinitely impossible human process. The idea of rumination itself is on that, on paper, we wouldn’t be prone to falling into. Nevertheless we analyse situations and their outcomes however different we might wish them to be. Playing with this idea Tim Bowness once more comes out of hiding to reveal his latest tale of conceptual rumination, Lost In The Ghost Light.

img_2415.jpg
Album Review : Blackfield – V
15th February 2017, 15:01
Posted by Tristan

Supporting, understanding and compromise. These are three of the most important elements to remember in life. Pausing for a moment from solo career material, Steven Wilson has banded together once again with Israeli singer Aviv Geffen to deliver a truly heartfelt record full of magical moments. In the fifth instalment of the pair’s Blackfield series. 

Overkill - The Grinding Wheel
Album Review : Overkill – The Grinding Wheel
10th February 2017, 16:24
Posted by Tristan

Traits of the underdog show persistence, tenacity and overall substance. Similar to the work ethic of the common man. Carrying on day after day, week after week turning up at the same job to log in and do your work. Taking this idea into a slightly different context Overkill return to celebrate tenacity, celebrate the steadfast to celebrate The Grinding Wheel.

Load More